Skip to content

Lentils for Bisters

March 23, 2011

I have a new favorite lentil recipe.

Of course this means I have an old favorite lentil recipe. Which does not make me uncomfortable.

I don’t remember where I originally found this but it is currently written, in pencil, on a scrap piece of paper and shoved in my Joy of Cooking book. I can tell you’re excited. Here we go:

Lentil Squash Soup

Saute, until onions are tender and translucent:

  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 TBS fresh ginger, minced (you can use a few good shakes of powdered ginger if, like me, you are too lazy to go back to the store. Of course fresh is better…)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 pint mushrooms, sliced

Mix in:

  • 3 c water
  • 3 TBS tomato paste
  • 1 c dry lentils
  • 1 to 1 1/2 c cubed butternut squash (the more squash you use, the sweeter the soup)

Season with:

  • Curry powder (I’d say minimum 2 tsp, but I’m certainly not going to judge you if you use more. I like the hot curry.)
  • Dash or so cayenne (pay attention if you too use of the hot curry)
  • Pinch or so nutmeg (cinnamon or even pumpkin pie spice is appropriate if you don’t have straight up nutmeg)

Bring to a boil, reduce heat and cover, simmer for 30 minutes or until lentils and squash are tender

Mix in:

  • 1/2 c chopped cilantro
  • Salt/pepper to taste

Makes four hearty servings.

Now, I like to blend this soup because I like blended soups. Some people are weird about blended soup, which is fine, but weird. Anyway, if you also like blended soup I would suggest using red lentils because it will turn out much prettier. Also, with a swirl of coconut milk and a cilantro garnish you are on your way to earning your hostess badge.

(Ok, one more suggestion. I serve this, to myself and Joe, with a side of kale chips. Wash and tear kale/toss with olive oil, salt, pepper/spread on baking sheet and cook at 400 degrees for 15 – 20 mins/voila! crispy, healthy goodness.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 2:29 pm

    The best–no, the only– table setting for lentils and kale chips? Heavy, misshapen pottery bowls, weatherbeaten wooden spoons, and burlap napkins (aka burlapkins). Oh, and to get the bland and the bleak to truly hold hands in terms of ambiance, make sure to diffuse any natural sunlight in your dining room with parchment paper drenched with the tears of Oliver Twist. Jeezus!

Leave a Reply

