Skip to content

Tofu, the Other Other…Other White Meat

March 22, 2011

Oh, hello world.

Now, now world. Don’t start reciting my blogoals to me. We’re better friends than that. Though, really world, you do have a point: not posting anything since February 1 is kind of ridiculous. Especially since Restaurant Week was in February. Well guess what world?!? Restaurant Week was cancelled for me this year, do to a cripling illness. Illness, world, illness.

You know what? I’m done talking to you world. I’m now going to direct the remainder of this post to my 1 (one) dedicated subscriber (hi sister!).

If that wasn’t enough drama for one post, I have more. 

For the month of March I am a sober vegetarian.

A sober healthy vegetarian.

This is actually something I try to do each year. Joe has dubbed it “Marching”. We cut out booze, meat, wheat, refined sugar, most dairy and processed foods which leaves us fruits, veggies, nuts, quinoa, lentils, and yogurt to eat.

Then we start to exercise again.

I like to do this in March (always forgetting about corned beef and cabbage and, forgive me, shamrock shakes) because it is a nice segue into Spring. By February I am sick of winter and this makes me lazy and when I am lazy I eat things like Mrs. Grass soup and Thin Mints for dinner… for an entire week.

The real key to Marching is planning because eating only healthy meals and exercising requires a great deal of fore thought. Planning conquers laziness, exercise conquers lethargy, and veggies conquer the fat collected whilst being lazy and lethargic. It’s science.

It is all worth it though because the energy and feeling of wellness I get from Marching cannot be imitated. It is this feeling that propels me into a new commitment to moderation, exercise, and being proactive beyond the month of March…

…and straight down the aisle… and then to the caribbean.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 8:21 pm

    have you tried soba or soma noodles? Rice noodles are the best; they only take about 3 minutes to cook and are great in asian inspired soups.

    also, could you send me your favorite lentil recipe? Ive been wanting to try them for a while now!

    • March 22, 2011 8:38 pm

      I love soba noodles! I use them in stirfry or soups. I haven’t used them this month because they have some wheat. I have replaced them with quinoa, which along with tofu and edamame makes my stirfry a protein triple threat.

      I will post my new favorite lentil soup recipe, just for you.

  2. March 23, 2011 3:06 am

    YOU WERE SICK DURING RESTAURANT WEEK?! I didn’t know…I would have sent a card.

    • March 23, 2011 3:24 am

      Yep. I caught the plague in Wrigleyville. That is what I get for breaking my policy of never going to Wrigleyville…

Leave a Reply

